#offcutroots What is theatre missing?

On Wednesday Witness Theatre received a tweet from the Off Cut Short Play festival I was part of in 2012 asking to offer just one word that describes what I think theatre is missing. That’s a challenging one, and a very interesting topic to explore. Reading through the Twitter timeline for that one should provide some excellent insight into how young theatre makers today are feeling.

I had a number of choices for words. I could have gone with funding, support, audience, engagement, story. What I chose to go with is access. By which I mean accessibility for audience members, for those who don’t normally go to the theatre, and for those trying to break into the industry.

What word would you choose?

Leave a Reply

