Exploited actors, exploited directors?

Yesterday I wrote about the big no pay debate in fringe theatre. The big discussion that is going on around the exploitation of actors in the fringe theatre scene – actors who aren’t being paid at all, or who are being offered a joke of a profit share agreement. Okay, fine, but what about the rest of the creative team? Because I, as director and artistic director of my own producing company,  will always be paying the actors before myself. I struggle to find the time to find the unpaid assistant directing jobs that will – possibly – mean I can find paid directing work, and boost my own experience levels, because I have to work in order to afford to run my company and pay my actors (or at least their expenses). I understand the atrocities related to pay that actors have to face, but whilst we’re making a fuss about it let’s just open this whole debate up and make a fuss about the whole industry shall we?

Leave a Reply

