Fear of hairdressers

It’s come to my attention that a lot of people have a fear of going to the hairdressers. Not only people I know, but a whole cross section of our society. This phobia has, even, been discussed at length on various radio programmes I’ve listened to through the years. For many it’s a phobia on a par with going to the dentist.

I have to say my own experience with the hairdressers has been varying, but I am not one of those with a phobia. A recent experience left me a little shaken as a fine come incessantly scraped a mole on the back of my neck, and I left uncertain of the cut – but it’s okay I’ve decided I like it now.

So what is it that people don’t like about this supposedly luxurious and relaxing experience? Well, for many the chat can be a problem – some small talk haters simply don’t want it, others find silence extremely uncomfortable. Living in Brighton, if you go to the right place, you can manage to find someone who has relatively interesting conversation topics extending beyond small talk. Then there’s a general awkwardness/uncomfortableness around the whole situation, it is (when you think about it) a relatively intimate scenario.

I don’t have a problem with the set up, but I am a serial hairdresser flitter. I can’t settle, I am yet to find one who satisfies me. Most of those I’v visited have been fine, but we haven’t totally clicked. Because here’s what I think: finding a hairdresser is just the same as finding a creative partner, in a way it’s exactly the same thing as your hair is the object you create/edit together. The thing I despise the most about going into a hairdressers is when they say “so what do you want to do with it?”, you answer with a vague thought and then they will not deviate from what you have said even when you beg them for their opinion. I don’t know anything about hairdressing, I don’t have a clue what I’m saying to you!

So, come on hairdressers let’s collaborate on this thing.

Leave a Reply

